Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Early voting starts Wednesday

Early voting starts Wednesday

2019 Elections

All the politicking is nearly over for this year’s municipal and school board elections.

Early voting starts at 8 a.m. on Wednesday and runs through Friday, Nov. 1. Election Day is Nov. 5.

Early voting sites will be at the Burke County Board of Elections in Morganton, the Burke County Senior Center in Morganton, Rutherford College Town Hall and the East Burke Library and Senior Center in Hildebran.

Glen Alpine Town Hall won’t be an early voting site in this year’s election.

The races and candidates this year are:

Board of Education —

Eastern District: Wendi Barber, Hope Hoyt and Randy Burns

Central District: Don Hemstreet

Western District: Randy Fox, Edna Weller and Kelvin Beam Sr.

At-large District: R.L. Icard

Morganton —

Mayor: Adam Pruitt and Ronnie Thompson

District 2: James Bagley, Chris Jernigan and Larry Whisnant

District 1: Isaac Crouch, Butch McSwain and Sidney Simmons

Hildebran —

For two council seats: Jody York, Terry Weaver, Derek Cline and Matthew Church

Valdese —

Ward 1: Andy Thompson

Ward 4: Gary Ogle and Frances Hildebran

Ward 5: Keith Ogle

Drexel —

Mayor: Danny Ritchie

Alderman, unexpired seat: Matt Johnson

For two alderman seats: Terry Yount and Rick Cline

Glen Alpine —

For two alderman seats: Terry Pendley, Tommy Helms, Jack Falls and Rodney Cox

Rutherford College —

For three council seats: Mark Stinson, James Huffman Jr. and Wayne Annas

Connelly Springs —

For three aldermen seats: Kimberly Sigmon, Dustin Huffman and Ramona Duncan

Rhodhiss —

For two town commissioner seats: Kendra Edwards and Allen Spencer Sr.

On Tuesday, the Burke County Board of Commissioners is expected to decide on buying new voting machines for next year. Voters will use the same touch-screen machines they have for years for this year’s early voting and the General Election.

The county board of elections has recommended the county purchase 48 ES&S/PrintElect DS 200 machines and 48 Express Vote machines, which are the Americans with Disabilities Act-compliant machines.

The board of elections officials said the quote received from maker ES&S is $606,551.19 for the new machines.

Sharon McBrayer is a staff writer and can be reached at or at 828-432-8946.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

News Alert